My visit with artist Justin Vining

So I met up with artist Justin Vining this past weekend up in Indianapolis!
j6

Why is this blogworthy?  Since quite a few people over the years have told me that they collect both Justin Vining and Cindy Thornton art, (and our studios are almost 1,000 miles apart!) I thought those people might enjoy hearing about this first “in person” meet up 🙂

I’ve probably told this story in the past, but Justin introduced himself in an e-mail back in 2008, and after a few conversations we were both (at least I was), amazed at how much similar our style and subjects were.  Naturally, if you paint alike you probably think somewhat alike too, so we have remained in touch and good friends all these years.  See what a house and little bit of whimsy can do?   So a recent family trip up to Indy allowed me the opportunity to spend a part of a day getting to see a little more of what he does and where he does it.  Below is one of the locations where his art happens. He was gearing up for the Broad Ripple Art Fair.  Lots of his works are currently done on paper he makes himself over at Twinrocker.  Pretty amazing stuff.  I snapped this pic really quick before we left, and he held up the canvas print I had brought him. (I had to bring up some of the central FL rain I get to experience every single day of summer.)  Yes, we have bought and gifted each other artwork over the years.  I have quite a collection of his sketch, colored pencil, ink & watercolor pieces so far.

j1Another place we visited was the Harrison Center.  Most of Justin’s work is done from this studio.  I didn’t take a ton of pictures, but the place was filled with work studios, galleries, and hallway after hallway of incredible art.  Below Justin was showing me the June 2014 issue of Watercolor Artist Magazine.  Next time you are out and about, pick up a copy.  You can’t miss it because he’s featured on the inside cover!

j9

Anyhow, if you have ever corresponded with Justin or follow him on facebook – he often signs off with “Have a Beautiful Day”…..this to me sums up my visit with him.  I learned he sincerely paints what he means, and means what he paints.  Hope you enjoyed and thanks for reading!
Until next time….
-Cindy

Leave a Reply

